First Presentation

 

There are some key criteria that I want to pursue during this project. A ubiquitous theme in my artwork is movement – I’m fascinated by it in general, and want to work on a full, working model for whatever I choose to create. In other words, it has to be the real thing! I have chosen to work on the concept of the meal, examining what it means to different people and cultures. My project will somehow involve food; it intrigues me how integral our bodies’ fuel is to the life of a human, in both physical and emotional ways, and I want to illustrate that in an entertaining way.

I have had some experience in presenting to a peer group at school; physics A-level coursework involved a detailed Powerpoint presentation on a researched material, and plenty of other class exercises involved it. I find the best approach is to be enthusiastic – shyness and embarrassment can be overcome by making people laugh! I knew from the start that I wanted to do something a bit over-the-top, and throw sweets out like in a pantomine, to demonstrate the sense of fun I want to create in my work.

For me, making the presentation itself was tricky. I wanted to think a little longer before deciding on a definite route for my FMP, and so the idea communicated was very open. I also know a lot about “Death by Powerpoint” as it’s generally known, and so deliberately did not fill the slides with detailed text on any ideas or current proposals. I do feel that I rushed it slightly and could have expanded more on the theme, so next time I will avoid this by writing up some notes with prompts for me to use during the presentation. This has been a good method previously, as it avoids you reading out blocks of writing from the screen, and allows you to differentiate between what you’re saying and what is shown to the audience.

Having feedback was far more useful than I had anticipated; it was beneficial to hear what other people picked up on as the crux of my general line of thought. Several people pinpointed the ‘rituals of eating’ as something to focus on, and encouraged me to research global specialities and ‘laws’ of mealtimes, as one person put it.

Having now given it some more thought, I have decided to respond to the feedback and take a closer look at several specific cultural dining mannerisms. Thoughts so far include:

  • Korean sharing platters, using ‘Lazy Susan’ spinning plates
  • Moving Sushi bar platforms (Westernised, e.g. Yo Sushi)
  • Indian ‘Tiffin’ and lunchbox delivery, as seen in the film The Lunchbox
  • Traditional Japanese eating styles (on low tables, kneeling on cushions)

To create a product that is reflecting my own family’s eating rituals would be interesting. It would add a personal touch to the final outcome; a genuine anecdotal background to artwork can transform the entire experience of it.

Here is the presentation document:

fmp presentation

Leave a Reply

